the polite way to address this problem

I hate getting meme requests sent to my email. Let me reiterate – I HATE IT! I think its a huge time waster…..

Of course, when I get the same meme sent to me, from 6 different people – I start thinking that perhaps people are actually interested in what I say, do, or think.

Since friends and acquaintances have been asking about my reading habits, I thought I would post my answers here….and save everyone else from having to do this – of course if you want to – feel free to copy this meme from here, and start your own…just leave me out of it.

So for all of you people that want to know what is currently being read or sitting upon my nightstand- here you go. GO Nuts!

How many books a year do you read?

A lot – usually 1 every week or 2. But I lose track somewhere after 23 books…..safe to say its somewhere close to 60.

What’s the last book you bought?

I never only buy one book at a time. It’s a big time and money waster to do that. On my last book store visit, I bought Eats, Shoots and Leaves– by Lynne Truss, and Two Lives – by Vikram Seth

What’s the last book you read?

Soul Music – Terry Pratchett

List 5 books that matter to you a lot, or that you particularly enjoyed

  1. Surely You’re Joking, Mr. Feynman – Richard P. Feynman
  2. Robert the Rose Horse – Joan Heilbroner
  3. My Name is Asher Lev– Chaim Potok
  4. A Soprano On Her Head – Eloise Ristad
  5. The Tongue Set Free – Elias Canetti

What are you currently reading?

The Piano Shop on the Left Bank – T. E Carhart
March – Geraldine Brooks
Visions of Cody – Jack Kerouac

What is on your to be read pile?

Oh lots -stuff gets added to it every day. Here are the first 10

  1. Empire Falls – Richard Russo
  2. Moo – Jane Smiley
  3. Portrait of the Artist as a Young Dog – Dylan Thomas
  4. A Long Way Down– Nick Hornby
  5. Haruki Murakami and the Music of Words– Jay Rubin
  6. The Idiot – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  7. Eats, Shoots & Leaves – Lynne Truss
  8. On Beauty – Zadie Smith
  9. Step Across This Line – Salman Rushdie
  10. Hey Whipple, Squeeze This – Luke Sullivan

And the magazines hanging around the house?

The last 2 issues of Mental Floss and the current issue of The Walrus

now do whatever you like with that information.

~ by talktheline on September 22, 2007.

2 Responses to “the polite way to address this problem”

  1. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  2. I would like to see a continuation of the topic

Leave a comment